For this project I created a visual story showing all the ways Washington State University students stay in shape. I was inspired by the the in class narrative tutorial, as well as some documentaries and motivational videos. This type of video is much like the one my sorority showed me when going through recruitment in August. It showcased the girls, their home, and the activities they do together. I remember watching it and being mesmerized by the happiness and light. This is what inspired my piece, as I wanted something that could make others as envious as I was. In my video I hoped to motivate students and empower them to make good and healthy decisions. My course topic is fitness, and I have really enjoyed focusing on the students at my university. I believe that fitness in college is very important and I wanted to highlight all my school has to offer. I included locations, activities, and specific skills that students do to stay in shape. I wanted to show how positive the campus can be. I chose a happy background song to cover the locations, simply because it is a happy place. I included not only the gym, because at WSU there are numerous things students do to exercise. From biking, to outdoor sports, and even walking to class, all of these things help keep people in shape. I made sure to have all shots horizontal, as well as having a steady shot, and focused on framing and balancing the shot. I wanted numerous angles, but still capturing what is important to the shot. I also wanted to avoid jump shots in my filming, so I captured a shot for at least ten seconds and added transitions to create a flow to my piece. I included an establishing shot, explaining what my video is going to be about before it begins. I believe that showcasing the gym, and Washington State logo really emphasized my piece and topic nicely. In my narrative of campus, I made sure to explain everything, keep it on time, but most importantly keep it simple and fun. I included dissolve, and fade to black transitions throughout my piece. I also added slide transitions between videos throughout my video. Dissolve to change locations, and fade to black to end my story, and slides to change topics.

I used all local places on campus for my footage. I did a variety of videos and images that best portrayed all WSU has to offer. I took some both indoors and outdoors depending on the activity and location it was being performed in. I took a very empowering and upbeat song to use for this video, and placed it over the entire video. Finally I chose places on campus with easy access, that any student could use. It is important to spread the word and inform students of all the free things the campus has to offer.

I began editing my project by creating a new media story, and importing all my media files. I then placed all the files into my media sequence after adjusting their length in the upper left panel to about three seconds. After I had all my media files, I inserted the music clip I would be using for my piece. I simply dragged it from my dash board into the sequence under all the files. I then adjusted it’s length to about one minute and thirty seconds by dragging the media file to the left. After this was set, I arranged my media in the correct order I wanted it. I then recorded my narrative, using the microphone in the sequence and placing it above the music track. After my voice had been recorded, I adjusted the volume of both audio clips. I first lowered the volume of my music clip by selecting it, going to clip> audio options> audio gain. I then set this to negative 10. After, I repeated this step with my narrative, putting the audio gain at 10. This was perfect, as my voice overpowered the music clip. Once my audio was set, I needed to adjust the frame size for each video clip so it matched my images. Going to clip> video option> set to frame, I selected each video clip and followed these steps to fix the frame size. After all of this was put together, it was time to add my transitions between each clips, and add my title and credits page. I selected the beginning of my video, hit title> new title> and added in text. I repeated these steps for my credits as well. I added a dip to black at the end of my video, and a dip to white after the opening title page. I added a slide transition between my two gym images, and dissolves between each of the gym exercise videos. I used a dissolve transition to change topics, and a slide to begin showing my new image. After this, I added a dissolve between my extra activities and finished with a fade to white for my final ending image before fading to black and my credits. The hardest part were adjusting the length of the tracts to fit within the time frame. A simple solution to this was zooming in on the clip until I could adjust it the way I wanted. I also struggled with selecting the right transitions I wanted to use. With so many options it was hard to decide which ones complimented each other best. After reading over the past readings from weeks before, and watching some sample videos, it made it easier to see which transitions went well together and also what number was the appropriate number to use. Finally, I struggled with keeping my media size all the same for the fit. I fixed this by simply selecting the clip, and using clip>video options> set to frame.

sources: audio clip- scott holmes Inspiring and Upbeat

http://freemusicarchive.org/genre/Pop/

